Networked ambient temperature and humidity sensor for <$7

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
luma

#1: Post by luma »

I've attempted to post this project and questions to the Artisan mailing list but apparently that technology is too advanced for me to figure out...

I'm new to Artisan and have been getting started with a new HotTop 2K+. Previously I had been using a Behmor along with the Roastmaster software on IOS. I love Artisan's flexibility with devices and data collection, so one of the first things I've dug into is utilizing the external program feature to bring additional data points into Artisan.

As a starting project I've created a web server that will report temperature and humidity readings via HTTP. The only parts required are a WeMos D1 Mini ESP8266 development board available for < $3 and a DHT22 sensor shield for the D1 mini available for < $4. Download the Arduino sketch in the GitHub repo, modify Wifi and network settings near the top of the code, and flash the sketch to the board with the Arduino studio (see GitHub repo for details on setting up the Arduino IDE to work with ESP8266).

The device will then connect to your WiFi network and will respond to HTTP requests with the current sensor readings like this:

Command: curl http://192.168.0.200
Return: 78.9,56

The device+sensor is USB powered and roughly the size of a pack of matches. Place it somewhere in your roasting environment and you can collect the current ambient temp/humidity from any device on your network. It should be noted that mating these two devices does require soldering pin headers to each, so you'll need an iron and a few minutes. Good news is that it's a dead-simple soldering job with no sensitive parts nearby so it should be an easy and quick job even for a novice.

DHT22 datasheet: https://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Sen ... /DHT22.pdf