Moving to the Philippines soon

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
bang4dabuck

#1: Post by bang4dabuck »

Wanna be a dental floss tycoon.

Sad but they export most of their coffee beans. I am now thinking to roast my own by shipping about 45 pounds of green beans there. As my name implies I like reasonable priced stuff so I was wondering if you all (I'm from Maryland) had any strong opinions on the green beans I can get thru Costco for $220 for ORGANIC (HONDURAS) or $180 for RAINFOREST ALLIANCE (Brazil) so $40 difference or .90 a pound ($40/45 lbs).

I have never done this before but sounds pretty easy. I was thinking to do outside on a hotplate with a wok(Philippines).

Okay like any opinions.

Boldjava

#2: Post by Boldjava »

You will have to be creative in your USPS label. The USPS prohibits shipping coffee to the Philippines.

http://pe.usps.com/imm_archive/html/imm ... r_018.html
-----
LMWDP #339

Dayglow

#3: Post by Dayglow »

You will also have to consider the lifespan of greenbeans, especially in decently large quantities, with respect to how much and often you plan to roast. In hot and humid climates it can be a challenge to keep the beans at ideal storage conditions which will only accelerate their degradation.

Boldjava

#4: Post by Boldjava »

I have twice cupped Philippine green samples (4 each time) from an acquaintance in the Philippines. There was nothing in either sample set which called for a buy. One cupping was from the higher grown region on the islands. Nothing to write home about.
-----
LMWDP #339

bang4dabuck (original poster)

#5: Post by bang4dabuck (original poster) »

Not USPS but LBC by ship 4-5 weeks to my door there. Foreigners ship coffee there all the time.