Modding a generic popper on the cheap

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
jimskelton

#1: Post by jimskelton »

I'm new to roasting and someone introduced me to roasting with a popper. Apparently, there are poppers which are easy to split the heater/fan circuits and others that are tied in together and can't be separated. Well, I found one of the latter types in a thrift store for $3, so I decided to give it a try.

Opening it up revealed a small DC motor connected to a 4 diode bridge, which converts AC to DC. The motor is rated at 18v and is wired in series with the heater elements (there are two of them for some reason--a small one and a large one). I presume the heater elements lower the voltage to the motor from 115 to 18. The only way to get the circuits separated was to simply do away with the rectifier circuit (diode bridge) and connect the DC motor directly to a 19v laptop power adapter which I had kicking around. The polarity needs to be correct or the fan won't blow very well.

I had a 3 way resistor pulled from an automobile heater fan circuit which steps down a vehicle blower to speeds 3-1 kicking around, so connected that to a 4 way switch (pulled from an old stereo--the mode selector switch) which steps down the voltage to the fan using the resistor, allowing 3 fan speeds. This allows some control over heat, especially when roasting outside in cold weather. This is potentially a cheaper way to control fan speed than a variac, if you can find a heater resistor at a junk yard cheap.

I connected the heater elements to the power switch to give more control over the temp, wrapped up the wiring with some elec. tape and connected a plug to it all.