Mill City 3k and 6k Roasters

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
rreiner

#1: Post by rreiner »

Hey Everybody!

I am starting a little roasting project with a partner who owns coffee kiosks to supply his company with roasted beans (150-200 a week) and to hopefully start a small business. Right now we are looking at the USRC 3kilo and the Mill City (North Coffee Roasters) 3kilo or 6kilo.

I am wondering if any of you use these machines? We are leaning toward the Mill City option (due to budget) and would love to hear if any of you have used these machines for commercial roasting and how they have done. I am also wondering how small of a batch size you all have experimented on with the 6 kilo.

adamgronwald

#2: Post by adamgronwald »

Hey rreiner! I've got a North 6 kilo that I've been roasting on for about 4 or 5 months, and I used to roast for a company that had a USRC 12 kilo.

I was also looking at USRC and Mill City before I purchased this machine. I knew that I liked USRC but I was curious about the North machines (same as you, due to budget). After spending an hour or so on the phone with Steve at MC, I was really impressed. (As a matter of fact, I think I visited HB to see if I could find any feedback from others who had dealt with Mill City or North machines, and all I found were rave reviews). There's a reason why. They know what they're doing up there.