Kona Roast Profile Suggestions/Advice

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
MSH

#1: Post by MSH »

So looks like SM has a Kona offering up as of yesterday and I'm thinking about picking up 1# ($19.80/lb, 2# limit). I have zero experience roasting Hawaiian coffees. I have always wanted to order some Ka'u greens directly from Rusty's, but have never pulled the trigger(i think Klatch was offering some of the Rusty's green for a while to, but no longer)

At any rate, with the high price and seeing that I will only have 2 shots at nailing a decent roast I'm looking for profile suggestions.
I'm assuming that typical low grown (Indonesian type) profiles will apply, but would be interested in what folks that have roasted Konas have done.(this will be for brewed coffee BTW)
Was thinking 340-350 charge temp, 5-5:15min drying, slower ramp to 1C with moderate airflow (I'm on a Hottop) target of 10-10:30-ish 1C with a 2:15-2:30 1C-EOR targeting City+

Any input/advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

coffeedom

#2: Post by coffeedom »

Haven't tried the Kowali yet (will have to order some before it goes) but as it's a classic Kona I think your intended profile is close to what I'd do. The last Kona I roasted was great at City+/FC.

I'd aim for a slightly longer drying phase, maybe 5:30-5:45, slightly quicker ramp up to 1C at around 10:00, and maybe 2:45-3:00 1C-EOR with a finish just a hint lighter than FC but closer to FC than City+. Something around Agtron 45 or a bit lighter anyway. I prefer just a bit more body than City+ but just a bit. Brewing method is also a factor, as I'd do this in my Chemex with Kone filter. Chemex or similar with paper filters might be better with City+.

Best of luck with it.

jonny

#3: Post by jonny »