Is the Quest M3 a good fit for me

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Goldensncoffee

#1: Post by Goldensncoffee »

Hi all,

I've been roasting coffee for about 7-8 months now. Thanks to forums like this and great knowledgeable people I've really learned a lot, and I am drinking some really good coffee. (for now brew only) I thought I'd post this question here as I believe there are quite a few of you roasting with the Quests. Hopefully some of you went from a popper to a Quest?
I currently have a modified P1 with a router speed controller, Kill-a-watt meter to monitor voltage going to the heater, a fan dimmer, and a Fluke TC. (BT only). I've been reading a lot of the posts about the Quest and trying to learn as much as I can about it before I make the plunge. I would like to be able to do slightly larger batch sizes than what I'm currently doing (120g is my max). Is there a definitive answer to what the Quests max batch size is? I keep reading about people going way higher than 200g. The popper is pretty finicky when it comes to following a profile...I've gotten pretty good at controlling it but its still a bit of a pain. I've never roasted on a drum roaster or seen one in action. Basically, I would like to know what I can expect in general going from a P1 to a Quest?

Also I have a room in my basement that I'm going to start running electric to, insulating, drywalling,etc that will be my "roasting room". There's no issues with running the Quest indoors right? Any thoughts on running a duct out of the roaster to an exterior wall? Able to be done (on the Quest) ? Even needed? Is a dedicated 20amp circuit a must?

Thanks so much for any input/advice you can give me

UltramaticOrange

#2: Post by UltramaticOrange »

So, just a number of thoughts in list(ish) form.