Importing green coffees in Canada: new UPS fees

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Louis

#1: Post by Louis »

I live in Montréal. I've made an order for 12 lbs of green beans ($60) at Sweet Maria's and chose to use UPS Worldwide Expedited ($40) instead of the USPS Flat rate box ($31), in fear of the ongoing strike at Canada Post. I've had a lot of bad experiences in the past with UPS prohibitive "customs brokerage fees" (UPS: Rates for Customs Clearance into Canada) but there are no such fees using the Expedited service (at least, so I thought). BTW, USPS/Canada Post charges for the same service are either free or minimal (<$10).

Just for fun, I also added to my order two cotton bags with the Sweet Maria's logo. Mistake...

Duties do not apply to unroasted coffee beans (neither do they for roasted coffee) (CBSA tariff 0901.11.00) but I had to pay $0.25 of duty on my two bags (value of $1.50). Beginning in June (from what they told me on the phone), UPS is charging $10 for their disbursement (hum, $10 fee on $0.25 duties, for 2 days, this is around 7000% of interest / year... interesting to the least).

I was also charged another $16, that UPS states (on the phone) is for "governmental charges", for "agriculture".

Only the sum of these amounts ($10+$16) was on the UPS Brokerage COD document under "Brokerage fees".

I hence had a total bill of $30.11 to pay on reception ($0.25+$16+$10+taxes).

When I called UPS to challenge this, the call center agent couldn't explain what these charges were exactly. They forwarded a work ticket to the billing department and were supposed to call me back today but didn't.

I called again today and a note was added to my file, indicating that I was credited the $16 fee. Again interesting.