HUKY 500 Q and A

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
RonnyG

#1: Post by RonnyG »

Hi all,

I am going to purchase a HUKY 500 and I know there is a ton of stuff on this site concerning this roaster but I am rather lost when reading a lot of it. I have been roasting for the past 5 months on a Sonofresco 1 lb Fluid bed roaster which has had some major issues and left me with out a roaster for 2months now and solving these issues has become more of headache than anything with the company unfortuenatly. I am giving up on this roaster and looking to learn about drum roasting. The problem is that I know very little about this art and am lost when it comes to talks about BT, ET and MET. I get what they are abbreviations for but really have no idea how to read this information and apply it to producing great profiles. How do these temps come into play in a drum roast profile and is the MET really worth it on the HUKY? I have seen a few folks suggest that it really is not a big deal on this roaster. Besides these questions I am looking at the following out fit:
-Solid Drum
-Faster motor with an extra ordered as well
-IR Stove (forums suggest this a more than adequate option but does it run off butane or propane? and what connections do I want, threaded or barbed?)
-TC's for the necessary temp inputs
-Extra Tray and fan with exhaust connection
-301 if only two TC's are recommended otherwise a 309 for all three
And I think that is about it unless I am missing something here others stongly suggest.

Where can I get the profiling software?
What thermometer to attach TC's to?
And what do I need to get to hook the TC's up to the thermometer and what connects the thermometer to my computer?