Hottop B control panel failed

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
paul49

#1: Post by paul49 »

Hi All,

My Hottop B (4 years old) has developed a fault which I presume is in the control panel. Yesterday, it ejected the beans (with no input from me) about 5 minutes into the roast. Today after the preheat period, it beeped once, turned off the heater and only responded to the Power button.

Replacement panels are over $200 here in Australia.

The Hottop already has a thermocouple in the bean chamber connected to a PC so I don't need to worry about that side of things. I've been a programmer for a very long time, have a drawer full of various kinds of Arduinos and AVRs and plenty of experience writing robotics/interfacing software. I've been thinking of "doing my own thing" with the Hottop for some time, and I guess that this has forced me to get serious.

A couple of years ago, I remember seeing an explanation of the function of the connections on the main board but I can't seem to find it any more. The Hottop website has a photo showing which connection does what but it doesn't explain how the fan speed and heater settings are controlled or how to drive the connections electrically.

Can anyone point me to some information to allow me to get started?

Thanks,
Paul.

paul49 (original poster)

#2: Post by paul49 (original poster) »

Now that I've calmed down a little from the shock of my impending lack of roasted beans, an educated guess would be that the control panel uses PWM to control fan and motor speed and just possibly also the heater?

AngerManagement

#3: Post by AngerManagement »

Paul

I fixed one for a mate the other day... He now has the original LCD display / control board back in and has a spare LCD and control board; as he purchased a replacement and now finds he does not need it after my work and service on his system.....

What is the exact model of yours; as it could be a number of things...