Help keep Nespresso honest - is there really anything to the long/slow roast?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
jbviau
Supporter ★

#1: Post by jbviau »

I know Nespresso isn't exactly of interest to members here, but their latest limited edition capsule, Crealto, is being marketed as high gastronomy, inspired by the "culinary technique" of slow roasting. I have zero roasting experience and thought I'd ask for your collective take. Is there anything to this, irrespective of the whole capsule phenomenon? Some of the claims seem dubious.

Here's more info., which I'll quote in chunks for ease of reference:

"It's not anecdotal evidence, it's artisanal data." -Matt Yglesias

jzuzphreek

#2: Post by jzuzphreek »

The low heat thing is kind of puzzling to me. 1st and 2nd crack happen at specific temperature ranges. It's not like a pork roast that tastes best after hours of low heat.

Sounds like a lot of marketing mumbo-jumbo.

Spitz.me

#3: Post by Spitz.me »

Yes, specific small temperature ranges are needed for the cracks to happen. That doesn't mean you can't vary the time you take to get to those temperatures. All roasters on H-B go through the trial and error of varying the time you take to get to first crack OR how long you keep the beans in the 'drying phase', etc. So, it's not exactly marketing mumbo-jumbo. I'm sure a "home" roaster can give a more detailed response, but this isn't stupid - necessarily... Nespresso is... IMHO

Different roasting methods have different roast lengths due to the amount of time, relative to bean weight, the method needs to get to specific temperatures. The Behmor comes to mind here.
LMWDP #670

jbviau (original poster)
Supporter ★

#4: Post by jbviau (original poster) »

Thanks for the input so far. I've definitely heard of "baking" a roast, which to me sounds like a risk if they're truly roasting three times longer than average.

bean2friends

#5: Post by bean2friends »