First time roasting espresso, very sour. Why?

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
cerone

#1: Post by cerone »

I'm pretty much brand new to Espresso, got my Lucca M58 this week.

I have been roasting for about 2 years and have a pretty decent feel for my Huky. Far from professional.

I roasted some of the Sweet Marias Decaf Espresso Donkey Blend. The green beans were about 12-18 months old but have been stored in a sealed ziplock bag indoors.

After 24 hours I decided to give them a try. I pulled two shots and they were at 2.5x yield in about 18-20 seconds. Both were extremely sour, more so than some of my other under extracted shots. I ground finer and was getting 2.5x yield in about 30 seconds, better but still sour. So I upped my brew temp from 200F to 204F. Still sour. I gave up for the night.

After 48 hours I wanted to give it another go, this time I ground even finer and pulled a shot that was about 1.5x in 30 seconds. Still sour. What gives? Do I just need to give these beans a little more time to rest? Is there a magic number of days post roast that Espresso needs?

I've attached my roast profile too. I'm open to suggestions of any kind. Thanks for reading.

Advertisement
Roasty
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Roasty »

I don't have any insight, theories or explanations, but I have lots of experience. I've never not had a sour decaf shot.

aecletec

#3: Post by aecletec »

Just a few days is hardly much time at all - espresso is often pulled after waiting several days. I haven't pulled a shot of decaf in years... so very sour might not be the effect of that, but if having trouble with flavour balance try to keep yield and dose weighed consistently and just change grind.