Espresso blend with grassy taste

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
MemPast

#1: Post by MemPast »

Hi,

I am new to espresso home roasting. I am using a hot air popper for roasting. I got several single origins, and espresso blends in green form well known online stores. When I roast, only 20% of the time I get good results; at first I thought it was the blends that are not suited to my palate.

But, once I got a very nice espresso from one of the blends (let's call it A), while other two blends, which were roasted in the same session, were grassy in taste. The next time I roasted blend A, I got roasnable results, but not close at all to the previous result. I remembered later that The first time I roasted A I did with small batch compared to the other two. So, I concluded the temperature from the popper were not enough to roast larger amount. So, I repeated the process with less coffee. Again, the results are reasonable, but not that good. That was the case with all the blends.

BTW, I usually get good results by taking the roast to FC+/vienna. Otherwise, the coffee tasted badly no matter what I do, even when the recommended roasting level is C+ to FC+.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

Try with more coffee, enough so it barely spins at the start. You can help by tilting or stirring, more coffee slows the roast while less will speed it up.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

JR_Germantown

#3: Post by JR_Germantown »

"Grassy" can mean it needs more rest time after roasting.

Jack

MemPast (original poster)

#4: Post by MemPast (original poster) »

Thanks, all.

I watched some videos and read that it is better to start a with "very hot", because you want the inside of the bean to get roasted, not just the outer shell--this is how I understood it, and maybe it is not the case. Am I wrong in this?