Correlation of roast profile to flavor

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
fizguy

#1: Post by fizguy »

I am still new to home roasting, having fewer than 30 roasts under my belt, 6 of which I logged using the roastmaster app. I am using a behmor 1600plus and roasting for espresso.

Once I got through the first pound or so of greens, I began to really enjoy the favors I was getting and considered them comparable to the beans I had been buying for local roasters, and even better on my best days. Recently I have been unable to produce anything worthwhile and only my thrift has prevented me from tossing the shots down the sink.

Now that I am using roastmaster it seems that I have some tools to make quantitative improvements. The problem is that I don't know what I ought to be changing. Am I baking the beans? Taking too long to get to first crack? Stopping too soon? I simply don't know.

So my question is: what aspects of the roast profile are correlated with the development of taste in the roast?

The favors I have been getting have been kind of thin and bitter/astringent. There has not been a good balance between bitter/acid, nor very much sweetness.

I will attach a screenshot of my most recent roast, overlaid on the prior roast, both of which were 9.5 oz of espresso monkey from SM.

another_jim
Team HB

#2: Post by another_jim »

Your temperature sensor isn't working -- first crack starts at around 390, 2nd crack around 425 for a drawn out roast like this.

18 minutes is on the long side, and can create astringent tastes simply because it roasts all the flavor to death. Try a lower roast weight and finishing in around 13 minutes.
Jim Schulman

Bodka Coffee

#3: Post by Bodka Coffee »

Yeah, something is wrong there. Not saying this is a perfect profile but try to make it look more like this-

fizguy (original poster)

#4: Post by fizguy (original poster) »