Bella XJ-101 1kg Roaster

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
ciel-007

#1: Post by ciel-007 »

After cracking through several hundred pounds of greens with my modified Hottop, I feel ready to graduate to a larger roaster for home use.

Earlier today, I was presented with an opportunity to buy a used BellaTaiwan XJ-101 roaster. It is about 5 years old and is propane fired. As far as I can tell, this particular model is virtually identical to the Yang Chia 801N, and Feima 801N roasters.

I am wondering if any of you might be in a position to talk about your roasting experiences with a BellaTW XJ-101, or perhaps share some noteworthy information about the above companies or roaster models.

Your feedback would be most appreciated in helping me reach a decision. Fern

hankua
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by hankua »

I've been roasting on an 800n for two years; both machines are made by Yang-Chia Machine Works in Taichung Taiwan. If you get a deal?

BUY IT!

chang00

#3: Post by chang00 »

As Hank already mentioned, GET IT! Like Hank, I roast with a Yang Chia 800n/mini 500.

Yang Chia (literally means Yang Family Machine Works) manufactures coffee related stuff with brand name Feima. For people who don't speak Chinese, it may sound like FAEMA, but in fact, due to ignorance of language. Feima means Flying Horse (飛馬).

Yang Chia roasters are used in roasting competitions in Taiwan, sponsored by the distributor BellaTaiwan. Numerous coffees rated over 95 points on CoffeeReview were roasted with this particular roaster.

ciel-007 (original poster)

#4: Post by ciel-007 (original poster) »

Hank and Henry, thanks for your prompt feedback.
That's much appreciated!

Photo of the Bella Taiwan XJ-101

Photo of the BellaTW XJ-101

Can someone explain the function of each control on the panel?

Fern

chang00

#5: Post by chang00 »

Your picture of the control panel is rather blurry, but if it is similar to other Yang Chia 801N roasters: