Bali Blue Moon problems

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
ron231

#1: Post by ron231 »

Relatively new to home roasting, have had good results before, but cant seem to get this (well rated) bali blue moon right, it pours extremely fast with anything except a near Turkish grind, and tastes extremely woody in a bad way.

Have tried about 5 different roasts on the behmor, including auto. Thoughts? For reference: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SLL ... ge_o03_s00

JK

#2: Post by JK »

I'm no expert!
I think Indonesian coffees you use a slow roast

He is some good info
http://www.coffeeshrub.com/shrub/conten ... -sweetness
-----------------------------
I'm on a Mission from God!

HoldTheOnions

#3: Post by HoldTheOnions »

I just roasted first batch Sunday with poplite. Took it to 2c with my standard profile (charged 225grams and hit 300f at 5:15, 1c at 9:40, 2C at 11:50), will let you know how it turns out. They are the bluest beans I've seen, but they roasted real nice. Purchased from Coffee Bean Corral, but didn't know it was highly regarded, just randomly making my way around the world.

ron231 (original poster)

#4: Post by ron231 (original poster) replying to HoldTheOnions »

update?

HoldTheOnions

#5: Post by HoldTheOnions »

Dood, I shall drink no roast before it's time.

Jk, was waiting for hopper to run out :-). I had all berry, but was very subtle (I would call it bland actually). No wood whatsoever, but I bought from a different source, so maybe that has something to do with it. I think I dragged it out too long actually based upon the blandness, so going to tighten it up a bit and and start drinking a day earlier, to see if I can get more fruit, then also try a bit darker and see what I get with that. Will be a couple weeks though.