Artisan Setup on Mill City TJ-072

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Army Coffee

#1: Post by Army Coffee »

Having problems with the way Artisan looks on my computer and hoping for some advice. I am running Windows 10 and the temperatures, buttons are not looking anything like anything I have seen.

See Buttons:

How do I make the buttons look Right? How do I increase the size of the TC Readouts?

Additionally, I am new to Artisan and trying to smooth out the ROR. Any Suggestions?

Thanks for any advice to make it look as good as so many of yours!
Drew
Living The Dream!
NEC ASPERRA TERRENT

keno

#2: Post by keno »

Don't know about the button issue but the waviness in the RoR looks more like an issue with what you are doing with the roaster than a problem with Artisan. Are you making a lot of changes to the gas and air? If so, then try to be more judicious with the changes you make. Sometimes less is more. Think of controlling the roaster as being like steering an oceanliner. It's going to take a little time for it to respond to changes and if you go too far then you find yourself over-correcting and that can cause the waviness.

Army Coffee (original poster)

#3: Post by Army Coffee (original poster) »

Getting control of this beast compared to a Hottop is probably the most important thing. I'm with you... heat control has been a challenge!

Drew
Living The Dream!
NEC ASPERRA TERRENT

keno

#4: Post by keno »

Definitely. If you are going from a Hottop to a TJ-072 that's like going from a 15 foot boat to a yacht. You have a lot more thermal mass in that roaster so it may take a little longer to react to changes you make.

Give it some time and I'm sure you'll get a handle on the roaster and how to control it. Every roaster is different. For instance on my Huky 500 increasing air bumps up the temperature at first but then starts to bring it down, but that also depends on the amount of heat you are putting into it.