Why is Orphan Espresso LIDO supposed to best Pharos for press?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
JWK

#1: Post by JWK »

Well, I thought I had done my research. :oops:

I have recently acquired a Pharos and have been using it for our french press coffee. We plan on trying some pour over and other steeped brewing in the near future, but no espresso until we are much farther down the road. In doing my reading in the past few days, I have stumbled on posts stating that the Lido makes a better grind for pour over and press than the Pharos and that the Pharos is superior for espresso. I have also found people stating that bulk grinders are far superior to either one for grinds other than espresso.

I find this a bit disconcerting, but that's water under the bridge now. The Pharos is still far superior to the piece of junk I've been using for the past 13 years, and one thing less to worry about if I ever go to espresso.

I still want to educate myself much more regarding grinders. I've tried doing a search, but either I don't know what to put in for search parameters, or there is nothing much out there on the net. Could someone give me some info on the different types of grinders for different purposes? I would assume at this point that burr types play into this. In my ignorance, I previously had thought every coffee grinder had conical burrs and that the only difference was in the size. Actually, it's one of the reasons I decided to get the Pharos rather than wait for a Lido2. I thought the bigger burr size would help with making a more consistent coarse grind.