Trouble with Zassenhaus grind setting (won't go coarse enough)

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
klylor

#1: Post by klylor »

Hi everyone,

I've been experimenting with coffee equipment for a while, but this is my first time posting here. I'm excited to find a community so excited about brewing! Now, on to my troubles...

I recently borrowed a friend's Zassenhaus and was very pleased with it. I decided to buy my own, and found a gently used one on eBay (not sure which model, but one of the more recent ones with the plastic lower burr holder).

I've got two issues:

1. At the coarsest possible setting (adjustment knob screwed all the way to the bottom, it's just ever so slightly too fine. This seems abnormal, because I'm brewing with a Kalita that needs a medium-fine grind. The one I borrowed from my friend was able to grind French press consistency. Any ideas on how I can remedy this? I just need to drop the burrshaft down by a hair.

2. Inconsistency of the grind. I've heard that these models of Zassenhaus have trouble with burr wobble, and I'm hoping to get a Lido 2 when they come out, but in the meantime my Zass will have to do. Any suggestions on reducing burr wobble or amount of fines?

Thanks
-Loren

pacificmanitou

#2: Post by pacificmanitou »

From what I hear these plastic zasses are pretty awful. Like the company stopped trying. You can't really avoid the burr wobble or other problems associated with a plastic housing. If you had a hario ceramic grinder (skerton cm-50 or mini mill cm-45) you could do the OE PFP mod, and give it a lower bearing, which is a problem with most hand grinders. These are extremely cheap now. I remember a few years ago a cm-45 was $50, but I've seen it and its rebadged clones in the $25 range recently. Until lido 2 arrives, you can:

-Buy a japanese hand mill and do the OE upgrade, then have a viable back up/second coffee/second brew method grinder post lido 2