Owner experience with Pharos manual coffee grinder by Orphan Espresso - Page 60

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
claypriley

#591: Post by claypriley »

Man, I love my Pharos! #162 ...... I am excited every morning when I wake up to go and make espresso Quietly while my wife sleeps........ It is even more quiet now that I have teamed the Pharos with an old Cremina Lever......

I have been roasting SM's Espresso Monkey blend for my Dad because he likes it, and I have always thought it was kind of "so-so" (no offence to SM), maybe it is my roasting.....but I have done a lot of different roasts on that blend (60# over the last 2 years) but I am no pro..... Anyway, I always try a little of the roasts I do for my Dad, and one day after I received my Pharos I ran the espresso Monkey through it, and made some espresso......and Man o' Man, it was a different coffee!! I really really liked it for the first time.... It had some depth, and fruit, and some body that I never experienced before, and this was before I got the Cremina, and I was making it on the Vetrano, which is very consistent.

So I am not sure if it is the Conical burrs, the low speed of the burrs or the Super Duper design of the grinder as a whole.... but it really changed this coffee for me, and it is now a blend I like......not just for my Dad anymore.......

I am going to try this with coffees that seem ho-hum ground on the Mazzer SJ..........grind it in the Pharos and see what happens to it.......

I also had the reverse happen with some Moka Kadir blend from SM. I really really like this blend through the SJ, but when I tried it in the Pharos it didn't change dramatically like the Espresso Monkey did....... in fact, I prefer the Moka Kadir through flat burrs.......

Anyhow, I can't wait to take my Pharos apart with the latest tech video.....

The Pharos Rocks!
LMWDP #347

craigcharity

#592: Post by craigcharity »

Hey Guys,