New HG-1 shaft wobble

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Rtockstein

#1: Post by Rtockstein »

I just got a new hg1 yesterday. I decided after realizing that the feldgrind I ordered might show up who knows when and that the hario slim I use for pourovers is a pos, I figured I'd just pony up the cash for the hg1 and use the feldgrind for my pouover travel grinder.

Wow what a work of art the hg is. Beautiful, functional, and does what it's supposed to do very well.

On mine, I noticed that the burr shaft bolt on top of the gear housing has a very noticeable wobble to it, and wondered if it's cause for concern. I took the funnel off, spun the handle quickly and smoothly, and I think I could detect the slightest wobble in the burr.

I can't say whether the espresso grind looks normal or not, as I've never used a good grinder before. And, these are my first espresso shots I've pulled, so I can't judge from that either.

On a side note, I seasoned it with 2 boxes rice, and have ran through 2 bags of cheapo beans practicing. So here's what I've got:

The grind is set about 1 and 1/4 rotation past touching zero, on the number 5.4. It takes about 45 cranks to get the beans ground. I have been practicing a 17g dose into a double mcal basket on a cremina. I use the blind tumbler and do some redistribution before putting it into the pf with a thin fork handle (size of chop stick). After lifting the stopper, I vertically tap the pf onto the table a couple times with the tumbler funnel still on top. Then take the funnel off and do the vertical tap a couple more times to settle the grounds into the channel round the edges where the funnel was. I do a single tamp making sure it's level. I have tried the nutation and and the spin polishing thing, and I seem to get the best results without doing them.