Mazzer Super Jolly burr replacement

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Chet
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:47 pm
Real Name: Chet
Equipment: Silvia, MD-50, Super Jolly
Location: Pennsylvania

Postby Chet » Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:01 pm

Hello ...this question has probably been asked and answered many times before, but does anyone have instructions on how to replace the grinding burrs on an '06 Super Jolly ?? ....thanks...Chet

Hello again......many thanks to all who sent answers...they all were very useful and I am happy to report the new burrs are installed and working great...they probably didn't need to be replaced, but when purchasing a used grinder, caveat emptor ! ....it gave me a chance to examine the "innards" closely...it was pretty clean and was advertised as "pristine" ...I've ordered a smaller hopper and probably should get a drip tray as it was missing from this unit...MANY THANKS to all...................

coffee is culinary
godlyone
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:47 pm
Real Name: ilya
Equipment: PID LM Linea, Astoria Lever, Astoria SAE JUN, Faema Futurmat, Mazzer Major*3
Location: New York, NY

Postby godlyone » Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:57 pm

Follow the first few steps here:

http://www.fotchbook.com/faq/mazzer/index.html

User avatar
HB
Posts: 14660
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 9:13 pm
Real Name: Dan Kehn
Equipment: La Marzocco Strada, Elektra Microcasa a Leva, Compak K10 WBC
Location: Cary, NC

Postby HB » Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:46 pm

Dan Kehn

User avatar
Koffee Kosmo
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 8:51 am
Real Name: Paul
Equipment: Bezzera BZ40, BNZ MD74,KKTO Turbo Home Roaster, Cona Syphon, Pullman Tamper
Location: Brisbane

Postby Koffee Kosmo » Sat Feb 12, 2011 5:02 am

Chet wrote:Hello ...this question has probably been asked and answered many times before, but does anyone have instructions on how to replace the grinding burrs on an '06 Super Jolly ?? ....thanks...Chet


The job of changing burrs on a Mazzer is a very simple process
If you can use a screwdriver you can change the burrs
3 screws hold each of the burrs and it does not need any further comment

[quote="godlyone"]Follow the first few steps here:

http://www.fotchbook.com/faq/mazzer/index.html

This is an excellent pictorial

KK
Espresso Yourself - Home roast More
My Blog - http://koffeekosmo.blogspot.com/

User avatar
benm5678
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:20 pm
Real Name: ben
Equipment: QuestM3, Mazzer MiniE/MajorE/RoburE, OE Lido, GS/3, Duetto, Strega
Location: earth

Postby benm5678 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 9:36 am

I was surprised to find when reinstalled mine that there's some play (1-2mm) in the burrs before completely tightening screws... so it seems you have to use your best judgement to make sure it's centered before locking down. Strange...