Macap MC4 - Any way to get finer stepped adjustment?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
AllNight

#1: Post by AllNight »

I've been using a MC4 for a couple of months now, and found that for most of the coffee I grind with it, I can't hit a 2 ounce extraction of espresso in 25 - 30 seconds. For example, one setting will produce a 2 ounce extract in 16 seconds, when the next finer setting will produce a 2 ounce extract in 35 or more seconds.

Does anyone know if there is any kind of upgraded stepped adjustment ring that has more resolution (in other words, finer adjustments).

A stepless version of the MC4 would be nice, but there doesn't appear to be one... only one with a doser (M4), which I don't want, or one with a digital operation (M4D), which I also don't want.

keno

#2: Post by keno »

Don't think you can get a finer stepped adjustment, but you should be able to convert it to stepless with a few parts. Here is a link to the worm gear on CC: https://www.chriscoffee.com/mobile/Prod ... x?id=39908

Alternatively, you can just adjust the dose up or down slightly to change the flow rate and extraction time.

keno

#3: Post by keno »

AllNight wrote:A stepless version of the MC4 would be nice, but there doesn't appear to be one... only one with a doser (M4), which I don't want, or one with a digital operation (M4D), which I also don't want.
This website shows that an MC4 stepless doserless is apparently available: http://www.kitchen-universe.com/Macap-M ... -p/mc4.htm

AllNight (original poster)

#4: Post by AllNight (original poster) »

I e-mailed Macap and received a reply from them:
Good afternoon,

thank you your contact and for sharing with us your comments.

The MC4 is supplied also with the stepless adjusting system. Please find the leaflet herein enclosed for your reference.

For further information you can check also our web site.

Kind regards