LIDO E Handgrinder - Drag issues or not?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
dazzle

#1: Post by dazzle »

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to coffee making - so I am not very experienced and can't figure the following out of my own.
Maybe you can help me.

I got a Lido E grinder (my first grinder) and I am not sure, if the grinder works how it should be.

Please note: I got the following issues from the very beginning (the grinder is 2 weeks old by now)

1. The zero mark is not at zero. When adjustment ring and lock ring are completely locked (so the finest grind setting available), the zero mark on the adjustment ring is 180° away from the zero mark on the grinder. I attached two pictures two show this. So actually my grinder starts at -8 (minus eight).

So in the following, when I talk about the zero point, I mean the marked zero point - means you have to add +8, if you count from the finest setting available.

2. On the adjustment of -8, I cannot move the grinder, it is totally blocked.

3. Adjusting the grinder towards more rough settings, the grinder becomes more and more moveable, but I it is dragging at some points. The first setting I have no drags at all is +4 from zero. On +3 I got I can grind about 300° smoothly and got a drag on the last 60°.

Here are two videos, zero and +3 from zero mark.

http://webmshare.com/play/r6V3x (0)

http://webmshare.com/play/R5yg7 (3 marks from zero)

Here a video that shows a comparison between my lido and a 2nd lido, same order, mine is the left one.

http://webmshare.com/play/PqxMo

While my grinder is totally stuck at -8 and drags terribly on 0, you can smoothly grind the other grinder at 0 (and there is no -8).

As I am unexperienced in mechanics, I'm wondering if I might screw the grinder, grind down the mill or whatever.
Should I return it, or no reason to worry about?

Many thanks for your advice!

P.S. This is the grist on 0 and on +4 (the first setting I got no dragging at all)

JFDUP