LIDO 2 Owner Experience - Page 50

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Shenrei

#491: Post by Shenrei »

Just got my Lido 2 today, and am enjoying it. I find grinding pretty speedy and not too hard. Much easier than I thought it would be based off of the posts here. I am definitely getting better cups with it ( I own a Baratza Encore) and I find it very good for espresso as well. I do have some questions/concerns for the experts however since I am new to manual grinders.

1. There is a little bit of vertical slack between the handle/feeder, and the hopper when the grinder isn't at "zero." Is this normal? Will the up and down "wiggle" movement affect grind quality when I am grinding?

2. Can turning the handle at "zero" or close to "zero" be harmful to the burrs or grinder itself? Based off of the information here http://www.orphanespresso.com/Hand-Grin ... 553-1.html it shouldn't be a problem, but I am still worried/paranoid that it can do some damage if I try a Turkish grind, or if I mindlessly turn the handle without realizing the grinder is at "zero." (which has already happened) When it is at zero, the handle still turns but there is some resistance at specific points of the rotation.
- Tim

bmb

#492: Post by bmb »

Shenrei,

1. Slack is normal, it's just the distance between the burrs that you chose while dialing in.
The beans will push apart the burrs exactly that distance. Clacking or wiggling the burrs will help to clean the rest of coffee grinds.

2. A slight touch won't damage the burrs however, forcing the handle may affect the alignment.
Anyway, I don't use the Lido neither for Turkish grind nor with hard beans, exactly to avoid that kind of problem.
From espresso up to FP there is no problem.

Bili

#493: Post by Bili »

Hi guys,

I can't decide if I want to buy a Rosco Mini or a Lido 2. Has anybody here both of them at home and can compare them in matters of espresso grinding?

Boldjava

#494: Post by Boldjava »