La Cimbali Max Grinder - a first look

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
jesawdy

#1: Post by jesawdy »

Well, I am a sucker for gear and I happened to be cruising eBay briefly late one evening, and before I knew it, I had purchased one of these:

La Cimbali Max grinder

As you may or may not already know, I am interested in La Cimbali machines (for no particular reason), and I have a La Cimbali M32 Bistro single-group commercial machine (also from a late night eBay cruising :) ). In addition, I have the La Cimbali Junior grinder, which I think is a great machine. The Cimbali Junior grinder plays second fiddle to the Mazzer Mini a bit too much IMHO (admittedly, the Mazzer Mini is perhaps a bit more of a "looker")

Did I need this grinder? No. Did I want to see what it was all about? Most definitely.

This particular grinder is a bit of an oddity, since it would appear that very few are imported into the US. The unique feature of this grinder is that it uses a combination conical and flat burr very much like the Versalab M3. Otherwise, as you can tell from the picture it is very similar to the La Cimbali Junior grinder.

Here are the tech specs from the La Cimbali website:
Body - Silver version
Grinding - start and stop automatic
Motor - Single-phase
Motor output (W) - 300
Grinding stones - Flat - conic
Grinding stones' diameter (mm - in) - 64 - 2.5"
Output per hour (approx. kg -lb.) - 7,5 - 16.5
Coffee beans' hopper capacity (approx. Kg - lb) - 1 - 2.2
Height x Depth x Width (mm - in) - 470x360x225 - 18.5"x14.2"x8.9"