Kungenthal hand grinder problem

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
sludge7

#1: Post by sludge7 »

Hi -- newbie here... I used to have a Cuisinart bean to cup machine which I was never 100% happy with so when it broke irretrievably I took the opportunity to try something new... As an emergency fix, I dug out the old Bialetti moka pot in the back of the cupboard -- but how to grind my beans? So I looked at various things on the internet and decided that a nice option that I could afford would be a vintage hand grinder... So I bought this Kungenthal off eBay, followed the instructions on Orphan Espresso how to take it apart and clean it and reassemble it and set it properly -- and it doesn't work! After about 300 rotations of the handle, I have about less than half a teaspoon of ground coffee... Loosening the grind adjustment doesn't seem to make any difference (other than that the grind gets coarser) but it's not grinding any more rapidly. I know it's a hand grinder, but surely it shouldn't be taking me 15 minutes to grind enough coffee for the Bialetti! Any thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong? Many thanks...

summer

#2: Post by summer »

Some handgrinders are fast and some are really slow - but 300 rotations sounds too much for half a teaspoon coarse grind!
It sounds like the beans are not fed properly into the burrs...can you take some pictures of the grind-path (the hopper, upper burrs, lower burrs and adjust mechanism)?

sludge7 (original poster)

#3: Post by sludge7 (original poster) »

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you -- my camera inadvertently got left at work...

Here is the view of the burrs from the bottom:

And here is the view looking into the hopper, first with the lid on and then with the lid off:

Do you want me to take it apart further so you can see the "teeth" of the burrs?

Many thanks for all your help...

peacecup

#4: Post by peacecup »