How to dial in the Baratza Preciso for multiple brew methods?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
parkerto

#1: Post by parkerto »

Ok, forgive me for starting this new topic if this softball has already been lobbed and smashed out of the park on this forum before, but I have searched and searched and can't find the answer I need.

So, I need a "how to" for my new Baratza Preciso grinder. I am elated with this grinder, it is the best I have ever had because it handles all the brew methods I use. Espresso, Chemex, Pour Over, Clever, Aeropress, Japanes Ice Coffee, Cold Brew--all of which I have fun doing on a regular basis. This is the first grinder for me that has handled every single one of them with class.

However, I am new to their system of Macro with Micro adjustments in a stepped grinder setting so I want to be able to develop a systematic way of dialing in the grinder. Baratza review by Mark Prince shares parameters like espresso at 10G, Drip at 22F, and press pot at 33G. However, perhaps I am over-thinking this, but I want to know better how to manipulate from there. I get the idea that the letters are one minor step that going from A to the last letter offered (maybe K?) is like taking one full step on the number adjuster. I just do not have a rhyme or reason on how to start though, I would love to hear from all the Preciso owners out there to learn two things:

1. How you tweak the grind for each brew method using both adjustment wheels? Coffee 101 on how to dial in specifically the Baratza Preciso grinder.

2. What starting point do you use for some of the brew methods I discuss above?

I understand that this will vary between the type of bean you are using so share who the roaster is and what you do with it when you get it. Lets have fun going through your routine with the Baratza grinder and the brew method you are using to brew the coffee you have.

Thanks for any insight in advance. Have fun:)

Netphilosopher