Hopper dosing is liberating

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Spitz.me

#1: Post by Spitz.me »

Yesterday I got a K30 Vario. The reason why I bought one is because I want to make my espresso routine simpler than what I've been doing for the past 2 years. I've been single-dosing a K10 and have grown tired of the brushing and thwacking. I know that I could hopper dose with the K10, but the amount of coffee stuck in the chute and below the burrs compared to the K30 is huge - or so I've read - and I wanted to minimize waste. I surprisingly learned that the K10 is incredibly loud compared to the K30. I didn't buy the K30 to reduce noise level, but what a f$%$#en treat this is to reduce the noise level significantly.

I don't believe I can go back... Timed dosing has shown me the light. Maybe my title should read "Timed dosing is liberating".... hmmm :mrgreen:
LMWDP #670

Jaxx2112

#2: Post by Jaxx2112 »

I can definitely see the appeal of saving 2-4 minutes when bleary eyed in the wee morning!

Are you still sweeping the chamber at all? Or just purge & go?

Advertisement
uscfroadie
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by uscfroadie replying to Jaxx2112 »

Sweep the chamber ... on a K30? You can't; besides, the retention is in the neighborhood of two grams. If you are really anal, you can set the single dose for about .3 seconds to purge the two grams.

And yes, it's a VERY quiet grinder; much quieter than anything I've owned.
Merle

Spitz.me (original poster)

#4: Post by Spitz.me (original poster) »

The time it takes me to pull a shot using the K30 feels significantly less to the time it takes me on the K10. But, that's not the the major reason why I'm loving the K30. It's the new routine that feels so different that I'd imagine it's akin to the difference you'd feel when you overhaul a process and streamline it.