HG one after using nearly three months

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
rpavlis

#1: Post by rpavlis »

I have been using my Hg one now for three months with after market TiN burrs. During the first fortnight that I had it I ran two batches of instant rice through it. Originally as far as I could tell each turn of the handle ground about 400 mg of beans. After the rice treatment it went to about 800 mg per turn. Since then there has been a gradual increase in efficiency. It now grinds most beans quite close to 1 gram per turn. There no longer seems to be any more increase in grinding efficiency in the last month or so.

It grinds large beans like Pacamara slightly less efficiently.

It has always ground with amazing reproducibility. It is still a delight to use.

dergitarrist

#2: Post by dergitarrist »

Thanks for that info. Have you tried any really tough beans and bright roasts (Liberica or others)? I'm very intrigued by this grinder but I pretty much never drink dark roast italian style espresso and I'm told it can be hard to use with my kind of coffee.
LMWDP #324

Advertisement
rpavlis (original poster)

#3: Post by rpavlis (original poster) »

I tend never to use dark roast coffee either. It is, of course, easier to turn when the beans are approaching being cremated! My normal roast is what one might call medium.

What I really like about the machine is its quality of construction and lack of low quality parts. Even the handles are made of metal.

It also looks great.

Texas_Toast

#4: Post by Texas_Toast »

I'm pondering the HG one, but am concerned about workflow efficiency. I pull 4-5 doubles every AM, and make one or two lattes... and get kids to school, dog walked, myself to work, etc...