Grinder cleaning - when and how?

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
arcitek

#1: Post by arcitek »

I am quite new to this whole home-espresso thing. I got into it by purchasing a Delonghi EC155 almost a year ago and would have 1/2 lb. bags ground for me at local roaster. Had some good experiences once in awhile (when compared to Starbucks or something) but it was fleeting. Decided I needed a grinder and became consumed with research which drew me deep into the world of real espresso.

This all started 3 weeks ago which led to me turning my EC155 portafilter into a naked portafilter, purchasing a new Vario grinder for 357 dollars, and ordering freshly roasted coffee online for the first time ever. Ground my first portafilter with fresh coffee and wow....what an immediate difference! I had a good layer of a darker golden crema and the shot tasted so much better than anything I had done. It was far from perfect I am sure and my head is still swimming information on what to do-not do but very gratifying to make this jump.

I was on sweet marias looking at samples of good shots and the color of crema. Good information there to help guide me to improve what I am doing. My one question is how often should I clean out my grinder? It is a genuine pain to pull the hopper off to get out unused beans and grinds so I am not doing it after every grind which is probably 2 - 3 times per day. How often does everyone clean theirs and do you run rice or grindz through to clean after each grind? I'm asking because I just read somewhere that the number one problem with bitter espresso is an unclean grinder or espresso machine. the leftover grinds go stale quickly so it was said they should all be removed after every grind. Is this true?

Chert

#2: Post by Chert »