Frustrated with Mazzer Mini

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
badmajon

#1: Post by badmajon »

I am fairly new to espresso coffee, but the mini is driving me crazy. Dialing it in is really difficult because less than half a notch makes the difference between a good cup and something barely drinkable.

Each time I put a different coffee in it I need to dial it in, so I am constantly doing this and wasting a lot of coffee. Most of the time I settle for "good enough". It's either coming out like a faucet or barely dripping and causing the OPV to pop. I find it difficult to adjust it b/c of how much even the slightest turn affects grind setting.

To make things worse, I think my tamping skills suck. I have a little plastic tamper that came with the strega and I can't ever seem to tamp with any consistency- so getting the grind right is like trying to hit a moving target.

Any tips for fixing the situation?

Compass Coffee

#2: Post by Compass Coffee »

1) weigh your dose for consistency using 0.1g resolution scale - likely your biggest problem dose varying.

2) get a real tamper
Mike McGinness

spressomon

#3: Post by spressomon »

Although the MM e B I owned could have been a little better in the micro-adjust department it never kept me from getting consistent results in the cup.

How old/fresh are your beans? Have you taken the MM apart and cleaned the burrs, burr surround, chute, etc. or is it full of old stale byproduct?

Are you making adjustments with the motor running or off?

Assume you are using a .1 gram scale to keep been weight in the basket consistent?
No Espresso = Depresso

WSH

#4: Post by WSH »

Compass Coffee wrote:1) weigh your dose for consistency using 0.1g resolution scale - likely your biggest problem dose varying.

2) get a real tamper
+1

And stick with one particular (fresh) coffee until you get a handle on it. Changing coffees/blends/beans is only exaserbating your problem.

Marshall