Ceado E37S Misaligned Burrs

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Komponistkalle

#1: Post by Komponistkalle »

Hi coffee lovers!

I'm having trouble with my new Ceado E37S. It seems the burrs are misaligned. Here is a video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtCJ4hlsWbE

Is this really normal? I actually don't have an espresso machine yet (I hope to get a Profitec Pro 700 soon), so I can't really know if the grind quality is consistent or not (I'm not experienced enough to tell by just looking at the ground coffee and touching it). I do get consistently under extracted results through my moka pot though, but it's hart to know if that is the grinder's fault. Coffee does taste better if I buy pre ground coffee of the same bean though...

Best wishes
Kristian

DaveC

#2: Post by DaveC »

Komponistkalle wrote:Hi coffee lovers!

I'm having trouble with my new Ceado E37S. It seems the burrs are misaligned. Here is a video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vY6UdN-WBho

Is this really normal? I actually don't have an espresso machine yet (I hope to get a Profitec Pro 700 soon), so I can't really know if the grind quality is consistent or not (I'm not experienced enough to tell by just looking at the ground coffee and touching it). I do get consistently under extracted results through my moka pot though, but it's hart to know if that is the grinder's fault. Coffee does taste better if I buy pre ground coffee of the same bean though...

Best wishes
Kristian
Most/All grinders are going to do that as you bring the burrs together a few thousands of an inch. There has to be a point at which they touch first and it won't be a complete touch across the entire surface of the burr. If you don't do it with the motor running and use your fingers to turn the burrs, you get a better sense of how parallel they are.