Project: PID NS Oscar: Result: Modded now Graphing/Learning

Want to talk espresso but not sure which forum? If so, this is the right one.
ciordia9

#1: Post by ciordia9 »

I've got two projects I'm working through. The first one is the modding of my Oscar to be tighter, the other thinking of making the Eureka (NS) MDE grinder doserless.

Nuova Simonelli Oscar:
I picked this little one up about a year and a half ago ±. It's been a trooper but I desire to learn more and understand this machine and others. The entire universe of coffee has been a fantastic voyage and this seems like an appropriate way of continuing my education. Know that I am a novice when it comes to these insides. I do not profess to have anything but a good sense of curiosity, looking for good questions and good answers to apply.

From my reading and exploring over the past few months I've found a wealth of thoughts but where they fall in difficulty, ability, and time I'm not sure, thats why I'm here. ;-) Help me sort the signal out.

Modifications possibilities:
  • Addition of a Vacuum Breaker
    Addition of Steam & Pump Gauges
    General Temperature Adjustments
    Advanced Adjustments via PID installation
    OPV Setting
    Pressure Limiting Valve Adjustments
Ramble
Not everything is necessary; I just wanted to think without being boxed in. I think this is everything I could really do to the machine. I think some things stack. If I were to be cutting copper for a vacuum breaker then it doesn't seem so far an idea to tie in some gauges. Course I've never cut copper so if that has a large learning curve then both of those seem of vague relevance.

In the next week I'll have most of my tools at the ready. Scace, Omega therm, probes, PF gauge
Ebay has not too bad a price on the Fuji PXR3, but I don't know the extent or method for what I would require to do this fully.

Steam wand/Vacuum Breaker