La Cimbali - possibly Junior R for $250 - worth the risk?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
wolfandfinch

#1: Post by wolfandfinch »

Total newbie here. I have the opportunity to buy a La Cimbali machine, model unconfirmed but bad newbie internet sleuthing points towards a Junior R. The machine needs to be plumbed in and uses 220V. The seller lives on a small island with me, so although she can't confirm the model and doesn't have it plumbed in to test it I can easily find her if things don't work out (somewhere between she's a friend and possible craigslist scammer ha!). The sale post (on a facebook buy/sell group for the small island we live on) says:
Manual commercial espresso machine (Spring piston lever). Cimbali made in Italy. Used in the cafe for a few years, upgraded to a larger machine.
Needs a bit of TLC, it has been sitting for a lil while.

The machine is listed for $250 because a) it's older b) it's been out of use for a while and needs "TLC" c) she is having trouble finding a buyer because of the electrical and plumbing requirements. It was originally listed for $500.

I'm willing to do the work to plumb it and find the 220V I would need.

What I can't figure out from searching the internet is just how bad having it restored could get. Is it possible for restoration to cost more than $1000? Keep in mind my husband is very handy with electronics but/and we are not afraid to hire a professional if we have to get in too deep.

Is this a ridiculous risk? Or a fantastic opportunity? Open to all thoughts, and my apologies in advance if this is an annoying post.

Found a comment where she says a tiny bit more about the state of it:
We purchased used for $900 Machine is cimbali made in Italy. Leaks a bit of water, but works. Needs to be plumbed in and requires 220 amp

MNate

#2: Post by MNate »