Roasting Education

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
edschlukebir

#1: Post by edschlukebir »

I've been roasting on an original Behmor for 3 or 4 years. Basically, long enough to know, that I enjoy it, but also to know without a lot of hacks, I'm pretty limited in what I can do with it. So I am currently building a 1k drum roaster. I'm making some progress, but before I get finished I am wanting to learn more about roasting.

So what are the best resources for actually learning about roasting. I know a lot mention Rao's book, and I've watched videos. But curious what others have found most helpful.
Thanks

TomC
Team HB

#2: Post by TomC »

Coffee roasting "education" is best self-learned. It's not what we like to hear, but it's true. Books like Rao's and Rob Hoos' are good for some background, but the actual learning comes from diligent practice, tasting and analysis, and repeat.

There's plenty of archived discussions and lessons right here on HB. There's also a great resource on how to roast coffee from the Mill City folks. If you haven't been following their Youtube presentations, you should.
Join us and support Artisan Roasting Software=https://artisan-scope.org/donate/

markmark1

#3: Post by markmark1 »

+1 For the Mill City videos. It's really great information for free. I also paid for "Boot Camp Coffee" videos, worth it, I guess it was. Not really a lot of money either.

But there is no substitute for spending time with your roaster. You just have to be prepared to roast plenty of coffee to sub optimal degrees.

I personally would really like to take a cupping course.

pcof

#4: Post by pcof »

Another +1 for the Mill City videos.

all the resources out there helped me get a good starting point, but in the end trial and error is the ultimate teacher. Keep track of your roasts so you can figure out what is working and what isn't.

I went from a behmor to a huky and now an older Primo T

Roasty
Supporter ♡