Starting fresh, need advice on Compak K10 WBC

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Bossman

#1: Post by Bossman »

Hello,

I am starting fresh after a few years off, I made a couple of posts on Coffeegeek so I don't want to cross post, so I will just ask about the grinder here.

I am buying a lightly used Compak K10 WBC, probably too much grinder for me but really hard to pass up for $450! I have never used a dosered grinder before, previously I have used for espresso a vario, vario-w and a Pro-M Espresso. I would like some advice on how I should use it. I am not a big fan of single dosing, I prefer to put a couple days worth of beans in the hopper. I am not sure I can use this grinder that way since I will primarily just be using it for me, probably making 2-5 doubles a day. I am pairing it with a Mini Vivaldi II if that makes any difference.

How is the retention going to be if I do need to single dose it? I would think with a doser the retention would be pretty high, but that is just a guess. Should I just use it like I am used to and eyeball & then weigh to get the right dose?

I am excited to get such a nice grinder that is supposed to have amazing in the cup results, but to be honest I have not even picked it up yet and I am wondering if I should sell or trade it for something that would be closer to what I am used to. I am for sure going to try it out first however, I just want some feedback on how best to try the grinder.

Thanks in advance!

Ellejaycafe

#2: Post by Ellejaycafe »