Quest M3 or Hottop 2K+?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
Nate42

#1: Post by Nate42 »

You would think this topic would be done to death, but I find surprisingly little discussion since the latest and greatest Hottop came out.

So I have been roasting for 10+ years now. I started initially with air-roasters (I had a Zach and Dani's, which is now called Nesco, and then an iroast). After the iroast broke down I spent this past 5 years or so with a Whirley pop. I've gotten pretty decent at it, but obviously stovetop methods have lots of limitations, and I'm looking to step my game up. The hottop 2k+ and the quest m3 are the obvious choices in my price range. I would love to do something like the new Mill City sample roaster, but don't have the budget for it.

An obvious advantage of the 2K+ is that it comes out of the box with BT and ET thermocouples and USB connectivity. Appropriate probes and interface would have to be added to the Quest. This advantage could be overlooked though if the Quest produces better results. Does the Quest truly have more to offer in terms of roast quality/capabilities than a new hottop?

turtle

#2: Post by turtle »

Nate42 wrote:You would think this topic would be done to death, but I find surprisingly little discussion since the latest and greatest Hottop came out.

An obvious advantage of the 2K+ is that it comes out of the box with BT and ET thermocouples and USB connectivity. Appropriate probes and interface would have to be added to the Quest.
You pretty much hit it there.

Hottop out of the box is artisan/roastlogger compatible through any laptop computer.

Any laptop computer can control the heat and fan settings on the Hottop roaster.