Laurentis single 110v fuse

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
NY

#1: Post by NY »

I picked this up, model SMEM/1 and it had some issues. It came with a flojet bottle water dispenser, working as the external pump. I didn't realize what, or why...except it was there and had been connected directly to the intake source of my machine. I'm not experienced in this arena at all. In fact this is my first espresso machine. As in, ever.
It's been torn down and descaled. I learned while doing my tear-down that the small tank behind the boiler was in fact the OEM rotary pump. It wasn't on or working when I tested the units operability. That's where I am now...gaining more knowledge but could use a little feedback. I've seen many similar models from CMA restored on this forum. I have appreciated the historical knowledge from those who posted their work. Here is the work, so far.

Advertisement
NY (original poster)

#2: Post by NY (original poster) »

After pulling all brass plumbing, frother tube, and water dispenser tube, I removed the infected scale. I was able to get a small light onto the boiler and it checked out pretty clean...luckily for me. I read up on the posts on here and was hoping I could avoid pulling apart the boiler.

Once the plumbing was reconnected I shifted focus to the pump. I had a rather hard time finding any details on the electrical for it. The fuse had been removed and the housing on it was broken off completely. It was a manageable repair bit took some work. The next issue was the small fuse cap was missing the spring, which I ended up fabricating myself, out of a broken spring off an old camp stove. It did the trick.