Misaligned La Pavoni Europiccola and 'black specks' in water?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
jayeff34

#1: Post by jayeff34 »

I am just starting out in coffee and espresso and have just acquired a used Europiccola through ebay. The previous owner had it serviced about a month ago, all gaskets were changed and the exterior of the machine looks good. However there are two problems that I have with the machine and am not sure if I should be worried about it.
Firstly the machine doesn't seem to be aligned to me, the whole boiler group seems to be 'rotated counterclockwise' as seen from the top:

I am not sure if it was meant to be like this, and I suppose I could open up the base or so to 'fix it', but as someone who is new to this I was hoping I can avoid dismantling the machine now.

Another issue I have is that when I try to run water through the machine without coffee, I find that I have 'black specks' in the water that comes out. This happens when the machine is at operating temperature with the portafilter inserted. It does not happen when the portafilter is removed, and it also does not happen when the machine is cooled down. Just running hot water through the portafilter externally using a kettle does not cause this as well.
So there is something about the combination of the portafilter inserted into the machine at operating temperature that causes black specks to appear. Any idea what could be the cause of this? I am worried that the black specks may appear in the coffee I eventually make, and I would hope to avoid ingesting unknown stuff.
Thanks!

grog

#2: Post by grog »

Spun boiler is a common issue that is mostly just irksome but won't impact performance as long as it isn't actively swiveling while you are mid-pull. A forum search for 'Europiccola swiveling on base' will give you many threads with tips for mitigating this.