Practicality of PID vs Rotary Pump on HX Espresso Machines?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
cuspess

#1: Post by cuspess »

As the topic suggest, it may be apparent that my question is relating to the current HX offering from Rocket. I am in the position to transit from my existing full-automatic to semi-auto, therefore I have no real experience with semi-auto but I have learned some theory and technique from this forum and the internet.

My question is not limited to particular brand, but when there are two HX machines, one equipped with PID and one with rotary pump (which I learnt to have slight edge over vibration pump), how much difference are there in practice and does it justify the price difference?

I understand that PID on HX machines "is useless" due to the heat loss from exchange tube to group head so it would not work same as installed on single / double boiler machines and all that, which I read from other post in this forum. However I quite like the idea that PID could maintain a rather constant temperature control of the boiler, which helps with consistency when trying out and producing repeatable results. (*please comment if my concept is correct) I understand that although the PID will display a higher temp than the actual brewing temp, it has a higher sensitivity to respond to temperature drop compare to the use of pressures stat. That's all in theory that I learned, but how it performs in real world situations? If what I described is correct, why does the Rocket Evoluzione V2 remained with pressure stat?