Pressure good, extraction too fast

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
Celticharper

#1: Post by Celticharper »

I'm quite new to espresso, but have tried to educate myself. This is something I need an opinion from more experienced people.^^

I use: [Quick Mill 3035]http://www.quick-mill.nl/quick-mill-303 ... hine-4434/ with a two shot portafilter. I use good quality beans.

After grinding and tampering my extraction is as follows:
30 ml in 17 seconds with pressure 10 bar. Some shots are even quicker 13 sec with a pressure of 8 bar.

As I understand, the optimal pressure is between 8-10 bar and extraction time 20-30 sec. So, pressure seems ok, time is too quick

What can I change, do or believe?

Ellejaycafe

#2: Post by Ellejaycafe »

Grind finer.
LMWDP #544

Advertisement
DeGaulle

#3: Post by DeGaulle »

If you tried to educate yourself, you probably know the importance of a consistent grinder to get good results. What kind of grinder are you using?
As Ellejaycafe said, grind finer to get the flow rate right. Use a scale to weigh your coffee grinds and get 2 - 2.2 times that amount of espresso in 20-30 seconds, then you're in the ballpark.
You will notice that the pressure will increase as you grind finer. Don't obsess over that. What tastes good is important.
Bert

41fivestar

#4: Post by 41fivestar »

It could be a number of variables. Make sure you're dosing the right amount for your basket. Try to find out the recommended dose for your basket and stick to that. Fining up your grind will (most likely) help. Your tamper could be too small for the basket. Your temperature could be too hot as it will sometimes speed up shots as well.

Let us know if you have further questions.

Celticharper (original poster)

#5: Post by Celticharper (original poster) »