Hints and tips for steaming with Nuova Simonelli Oscar

Beginner and pro baristas share tips and tricks for making espresso.
espresso_nerd

#1: Post by espresso_nerd »

Hi all

I've been perusing a number of forums and websites to try and find help getting decent milk using the steam wand on the Oscar. I've been using the machine for around 7 months after a couple years on a Gaggia Evolution and immediately had to plug 3 of the 4 holes on the steam wand tip because the beastly power of the thing turned my milk into scorching hot bubble bath in moments. Using one hole I could get consistently silky milk but it took nearly as long as on the Gaggia (>1 min). After some practice I opened up a second hole and was able to get good milk but it still took longer than what I knew the machine was capable of, given my initial experience with the molten milk produced in a few seconds with four holes open. So I got braver and opened the third hole which only ever gave me sub par foam, often separated from the milk at the bottom of the pitcher. After about a week of thin tasting cappuccinos that were just milky coffee after the first two sips sucked the foam off, I returned to the forums for help. Eventually I stumbled onto a link to http://coffeetime.wikidot.com/foaming-milk-the-basics with the following specific tip:

"If you have a 2 ,3 or 4 hole tip, you don't want the wand at an angle, as your much more likely to periodically expose the uppermost hole and cause bubbles, so a more vertical orientation seems to work best"

This advice coupled with another comment on a different thread, advising users of four hole steam tips to rather keep the tip centered in the milk jug throughout steaming, has hugely improved my success on the Oscar.