Using the pump for auto fill vs. line pressure

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
Ellejaycafe

#1: Post by Ellejaycafe »

I have wondering this for a while and guess there is no better place to ask.

On my Aurelia you can have the pump turn on during auto fill or use line pressure. I have always used line pressure because it obviously saves the pump and is less noisy.

My question is this; does using line pressure instead of the pump affect the shot performance at all? And why is this an option?

Silly question but I simply don't the know the answer
LMWDP #544

RapidCoffee
Team HB

#2: Post by RapidCoffee »

I have no experience with the Aurelia, but in general: it should make no difference whether the boiler autofills from pump or line pressure. If autofill engages during a shot, it could affect the pressure at the brew head (even then, a rotary pump should have pressure to spare). So save the pump for brewing, and use line pressure for autofill.
John

HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »

Ellejaycafe wrote:On my Aurelia you can have the pump turn on during auto fill or use line pressure. I have always used line pressure because it obviously saves the pump and is less noisy.
The La Marzocco Strada has an option for refilling the steam boiler via line pressure or pump and a similar option for the tea dispenser (i.e., it can pull only from the steam boiler or mix steam boiler water and fresh water). Since I have it plumbed in, I see no harm in letting the mains pressure do the work for refilling the boiler. When it comes to pulling shots, the pump is always engaged.
Ellejaycafe wrote:My question is this; does using line pressure instead of the pump affect the shot performance at all?