Solis/Baratza Maestro Plus makes high-pitched squeaking sound, but only when empty

Grinders are one of the keys to exceptional espresso. Discuss them here.
Ton

#1: Post by Ton »

I still have a Solis/Baratza Maestro Plus grinder but after buying a Mahlkonig Vario about 2 years ago I didn't use it anymore. Recently however I started brewing with my AeroPress and Hario V60 again and although the Vario can easily be set to coarser and finer I still find it a bit troublesome to find the correct setting for espresso again after having used other beans for drip or AeroPress. So I thought it would be a good idea to put the Maestro Plus in use again and then for drip and Aeropress.

However I have a strange problem with the Maestro. When it is running empty, without beans in it, every now and then I hear a high-pitched, squeaking, sound. It is not constantly but every few seconds. It does so also when I remove the upper burr, so it has not to do with the burrs. I gave the grinder a good cleaning, even inside after removing the casing, but that did not help. The strange thing is that when I grind beans with it, so when the grinder is under load, the sound is gone.

Anybody have an idea what could be causing this and what I can do ?
Thanks in advance.

Bodka Coffee

#2: Post by Bodka Coffee »

I'm not familiar with this grinder. Does it have pulleys and a belt?

Advertisement
radish_beans

#3: Post by radish_beans »

Normally with these grinders a high pitched sound would indicate gearbox wear - it happened to mine and I upgraded to the more robust 2.0 gearbox. I can't remember if having beans in the hopper had any effect though.

turtle

#4: Post by turtle »