Behmor 1600 equipment fail

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
shadyatbest

#1: Post by shadyatbest »

Hey home roasters, I have a question for you on a Sunday when Behmor customer service is closed.

I have been using my Behmor 1600 roaster since 2011 and it has always worked great. Today I went to start a roast cycle and the Behmor only turned on and began roasting for about 5 seconds and then just shut off and went blank. I tried again and it wouldn't turn on. After this I unplugged the machine, let it rest and then tried again. Another 3-5 seconds of roasting and then it turned off and went blank.

No circuit breakers were tripped and I tried a couple different outlets. There wasn't anything else in my home pulling a big electrical draw at the time either... just the roaster.

Has the roaster most likely run it's useful life cycle? Are there any components in it that I can replace to get myself up and running again? Would putting the Behmor 1600 PLUS control head on it fix some potential electrical problems?

Any guesses to the problem or suggestions would be appreciated. Hopefully I hear something from Behmor customer support on Monday or Tuesday.

yakster
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by yakster »

I've had that problem and had it resolved by replacing a circuit board, but not the one that makes it a plus. Behmor has good, clear directions if they determine its a circuit board and you want to replace it yourself.

Might want to do the upgrade at the same time.
-Chris

LMWDP # 272

shadyatbest (original poster)

#3: Post by shadyatbest (original poster) »

Ok, I will definitely look into that. I haven't read much about the 1600 plus. Is that a worthwhile upgrade?

brianmch

#4: Post by brianmch »

I have had to replace circuit boards and electrical bits on some of my home appliances over the past year or two (oven, mixer, dryer, etc). They start acting wonky like off/on, etc so that wouldn't be a surprise.