Questions from a new Rocket Cellini PP v1 owner

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
nlbrmn

#1: Post by nlbrmn »

After 9 years with a Rancilio Silvia I recently had the opportunity to acquire a Rocket Cellini Premium Plus v1.

As I am new to this machine with its HX boiler and E61 brew head, I am hoping to glean some advice from the community here at H-B. While I have done various searches, and will continue to explore, I still have some initial questions...

1) What is the best practice for using a timer with the Cellini? (Or is the best practice to NOT use a timer?)

2) Once the machine is on in the morning, is it better to leave it on for the day (for the afternoon/evening coffee of for when guests are coming by) or best to turn it off until before it's needed again?

3) Regarding pre-infusion regarding with this machine... How is this done? Do you lift the brew lever halfway for a period of time? If so, how long? Should one count this toward the shot timing?

4) What grind setting and quantity have people typically found to work best with this machine? (Since I know someone is going to ask, I have a Rocky doserless grinder at present.)

5) Are there any "best practice" tips or techniques I should know about the Cellini.

And as I am not adverse to research and reading, if answers to any of all of these questions are elsewhere (here or on other forums), just point me in the right direction.

Much thanks in advance!
-Neil

Advertisement
TheJavaCup77

#2: Post by TheJavaCup77 »

The capabilities of the Cellini would be more utilized with a better grinder like a Mazzer Mini or Compak K3 by minimum..

To dial in my Rocky.. i find a step where one setting lower is a gusher and one finer is a choker and then change my dose to get appropriate shot times..

Lower dose = Faster
Higher Dose = Slower