Advice on used La Pavoni with orange base as first lever

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
zrieser

#1: Post by zrieser »

I have been using a semi auto for 6 years now, and need a new machine (my semi-auto is a rebuild that now needs a lot more work).

There is a La Pavoni with an orange base that appears in good shape for $250. Would this work for a first lever? I don't often do more than a shot or two in the morning... and realize making shots for multiple people would be a problem.... What I am wondering is am I going to be disappointed with the shots from this machine? Am I signing up for a machine that will never give me good shots compared to a better/newer machine?

I use a Gaggia MDF, stepless modified, grinder which worked great for my semi-auto Livietta, will this work for the Pavoni?

any advice would be great... don't want to spend the money on something I am going to regret.

Thanks

hipporun

#2: Post by hipporun »

Here's the thing with La Pavonis,

The learning curve is huge. Despite your espresso background, I almost garentee you will dump your first half-dozen shots. There is just so many more factors to fully manual level machines. But once you have it figured out, you will be pulling the best espresso you have ever tasted.

Usually you can pull 2-4 shots before the group gets too hot and they start tasting yucky. There are ways around that if you NEED to pull more shots. Ex: you can put a cold damp towel around the group between shots.

As for the machine, if is in good condition, go for it. If seller did not provide a picture of the chrome under the driptray, request it. That spot rusts very fast on Pavonis and is always the first do go.

Good luck!

TheJavaCup77

#3: Post by TheJavaCup77 »

Question for OP....

Is it a pre-millenium or a Millennium?

(Manufacture Date)

Millenium: year 2000+
Pre-Millenium: below 2000 year