Odd brew pressure behavior on Nuova Simonelli Appia

Need help with equipment usage or want to share your latest discovery?
JtothaR

#1: Post by JtothaR »

I've been using my Appia almost every morning for 6+ months and there has been no variation in pump pressure. it has always shown 9-9.5 bar on the gauge even when flushing, backflushing or brewing.

Suddenly this morning I had finished pulling two shots and was doing a quick flush before pulling a 3rd when suddenly the gauge dropped from 9 bar down to around 6.5-7 range and group head flow dropped significantly for a few seconds. I checked the flow at the sink and noticed no difference to the normal flow.

I proceeded to check the filter system, the inlet expansion valve, the group connections and the brew solenoid for any blockages or leaks. I found nothing. So I reassembled the machine, re-calibrated the pressure regulator to around 3 bar and the pump to 9 bar on the gauge. What I quickly noticed upon putting in a blind basket was that the gauge jumped up to 11+ bar. So I re-set the pump to around 9 bar with the blind basket in and the gauge continued to show around 6.5 bar without the PF locked in. Pulled a couple shots and the machine goes up to 9 bar under the load of the coffee.

But the gauge continues to behave differently to how its always functioned. Only goes up to 9 bar with coffee or the blind basket. What am I missing here? Is the pump on it's way out? Is the gauge broken or has some sort of air trapped in it? Am I certifiably insane? I'm open to any and all suggestions.

Thanks Guys!

properlejdi

#2: Post by properlejdi »

Hi Jon,

I had this issue with the rotary pump in my Appia right when it was giving up the ghost. That said though, it was screaming like a banshee before it went because the bearings were shot in it.

Does it make any weird noises? Any vibration that wasn't there before?

JtothaR (original poster)

#3: Post by JtothaR (original poster) »

HI Dave,