[Blending] I can't achieve the taste I want

Discuss flavors, brew temperatures, blending, and cupping notes.
OctagonCoffee

#1: Post by OctagonCoffee »

Sorry for confusing English.

Hello. I like to blend and roast coffee beans by myself, and I have been doing for 3-4 months. I used to get coffee beans online, and I was initially getting from large Italian coffee roasters like Lavazza, and switched to couple other roasters like Red Bird Coffee. But I could't find any taste difference between those beans that I bought. They all tasted kind of the same. So I decided to visit some caffe to compare taste difference from each caffe. And guess what? There was a significant difference from each espresso that each caffe made. One tasted like nutty, other one was like fruity with a good body to it, and some got chocolatey taste. I was quite shocked how they can be so different. I bought one of their original blend and tried it home with my moka pot, and it tasted the same way as the one I drunk at the caffe. I remember that it was really light roast but got really good body and sweetness, and no charcoalish flavor that I often experienced from dark roasted coffee. Since then, I decided to do my own blend to achieve the taste that I want. But every time I experiment with different blend, I get kind of the same taste result. I even tried similar blend to the one I bought from the caffe, but it was not even close to what I experienced from the caffe's blend. Why is that? Why do my blends taste the same where the blend that I bought from the caffe taste significantly different?

brianl

#2: Post by brianl »