Bezzera Strega plus what grinder?

Recommendations for buyers and upgraders from the site's members.
uwbadger81

#1: Post by uwbadger81 »

Hello all! I am a beginner that is very interested in learning/practicing/getting decent at pulling espresso shots. I have a pre order on a Bezzera Strega that I am extremely excited about, but I am not sure what grinder will pair well with it.

I am going to try to squeeze 2 questions into 1 post because I do have a kind of deal breaker with the Bezzera.....I need it to be ready to go in the morning without waiting for it to heat up. Can I leave it on overnight, or can I set it up with an auto timer? If not, I will be starting a new forum about which espresso machine to buy :).

If so, my main question is if there are strong opinions about what grinder will pair with it nicely. I am willing to go to about $1500 (but would love to be closer to 1000). I don't really like the idea of a doser, but I can be persuaded :). Other than that I don't really have any specifications, except that I am not really in for a hand grinder, I really like the HG One but at 5:30 am I don't think I will be feeling it! Thanks for help folks!

boar_d_laze

#2: Post by boar_d_laze »

uwbadger81 wrote:Can I leave it on overnight?
Yes.
Or can I set it up with an auto timer?
Yes.
What grinder will pair with it nicely.
Lots of great choices.
I am willing to go to about $1500 (but would love to be closer to 1000).
The Ceado E37s is currently on sale at WLL. It seems to check all your boxes.

Rich
Drop a nickel in the pot Joe. Takin' it slow. Waiter, waiter, percolator

another_jim
Team HB

#3: Post by another_jim »

The Strega has the very peculiar advantage of having a group head heater. It's ready to go in 12 minutes flat. I turn it on when I wake up, and it's ready by the time I'm staggering out of the bathroom.